Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Midterm Exams Schedule (August 3-7, 2015)

Click here to download a copy (pdf).

DWST Midterm Examinations (August 3-7, 2015)
1. The schedule follows the usual schedule of classes.
2. Regular classes are held even during the Midterms Week.
3. Professors of Special Courses may set their own schedule.

Monday – Msgr. Santos (Morals)
Tuesday – Fr. Ferrer (Revelation and Faith); Fr. Saniel (SVD Spirituality)
Wednesday – Sr. Alejandrino (Intro to Sacred Scripture)
Thursday – Fr. Layugan (Research)
Friday – Fr. Flores (Synoptics)

Monday – Fr. Javier (Introduction  To Missiology); Fr. Uy (Ancient Church History)
Tuesday – Sr. Alejandrino (Pentateuchal Studies)
Wednesday – Fr. Crisostomo  (General  Introduction to Liturgy); Fr. Flores (Christology)
Thursday – Sr. Cabantog  (Book I: General Norms); Fr. Tiong (Bio- Ethics)
Friday – Fr. Nicasio  (Principle of Homiletics)

Monday – Fr. Mandin (Social, Political Ethics)
Tuesday – Sr. Dianzon (Paul); Sr. Dianzon (Greek)
Wednesday – Fr. Recepcion  (Mariology); Fr. Marfori  (Grace)
Thursday – Fr. Corcuera  (Sacraments)
Friday – Fr. Uy  (Modern Church History)
N.B. Fr. Biliran (Canon Law) - finished.

Tuesday – Fr. Heruela (Introduction to Pastoral Theology)
Wednesday – Fr. Marfori  (Dogma Synthesis)
Thursday – Fr. Tiong  (Pastorals of Confession); Fr. Saniel (Spiritual Theology)
Friday – Fr. Layugan  (Patrology)
N.B. Fr. Biliran (Canon Law) - finished.


Fr. Randy Flores, SVD
Dean of Studies

Monday, July 27, 2015

DWST greets Fr. Antolin Uy, SVD on his 80th Birthday (7/28/15)

  "As for the days of our years, in them are threescore years and ten; and if men should be in strength, fourscore years" (LXX of Psalm 90:10).
Fr. Tony Uy, SVD passing the fourscore mark on three legs.
Photo taken at the start of the Baccalaureate mass
for 50th commencement of DWST (March 21, 2015).

Commemorative bottled waters for the
Fr. Antolin Uy, SVD Scholarship Fund Inc.

Piece of cake for 80
Thoughts of Fr. Uy on DWST at 50 years

Thursday, July 16, 2015

DWSTA Oath-taking

DWSTA Officers 2015-2016
The new set of officers of the Divine Word Seminary Tagaytay Students' Association (DWSTSA) took the oath of office this morning (7/16/15) at the Aula Magna before student body.

President: John Bordon, MSP
Vice President: Carl Pua, San Pablo
Secretary: Pelagio Guamil, Jr (SASMA)
Treasurer: Roni Fernandis, MSFS

From left: John Bordon, Carl Pua, Jun Guamil and Rev. Roni Fernandis
Text of the Oath of Office

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Updated Guidelines on the M.A. in Theology Thesis Program

1. The DWST Masters Program (6/19/16)

2. General Guidelines, click here (in pdf) [7/16/15].

3. General Format Requirement for M.A. Thesis at DWST.

4. Criteria of the Evaluation of an M.A. Thesis in Theology.

5. Procedure for the Approval of the Oral Defense of the M.A. Thesis in Theology

Midterm Exams in Canon Law (Biliran)- T3 and T4

Your midterm exams will be on July 20 (Monday) instead of the August schedule:


T3 Canon Law midterms pointers (8:10 - 10:00 am, 20 July 2015).
1. Explain how the clerics' sanctifying function has become a pastoral dilemma due to the cultural practice of "low-paying Sacraments" vs "high-paying Sacramentals"; cite canon law and PCP II provisions (45 pts).

2. Table / diagram what constitutes VALIDITY and LICEITY of the ff sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Penance, Anointing of the Sick (45 pts).

T-4 Canon Law midterms pointers (11:10-12:40, 20 July 2015).
1.  Explain to ordinary Church goers why the Church possesses temporal goods (45 pts).

2. Diagram and enumerate the different forms of ACQUISITION and ADMINISTRATION of Church goods (45 pts).

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

New Officers of DWSTSA (2015-2016)

The Divine Word Seminary Tagaytay Students' Association (DWSTSA) has elected this morning its new set of officers for the school year 2015-2016:

President: John Bordon, MSP
Vice President: Carl Pua, San Pablo
Secretary: Pelagio Guamil, Jr (SASMA)
Treasurer: Roni Fernandis, MSFS

* The Oath-taking of the newly elected officers is on Thu (7/16/15) during the long break in the morning.

We thank the class beadles who facilitated the association's election.

Friday, July 10, 2015

RIP Fr. Tadeo "Deo Angcao

DWST extends its condolences to the Diocese of Imus and to the family of the late Fr. Deo Angcao who passed away this morning. Oremus pro eo.

Fr. Deo Angcao was a DWST alumnus (1992, TMP) and a former SVD scholastics.

The wake is at the Casas Hall, Bishop's House, Imus, Cavite.

Thursday, July 09, 2015

Schola Vacat July 17 - Fri has been declared a regular holiday (Eid'l Fitr)

July 17, 2015—a Friday—has been declared a regular holiday throughout the country. The observance seeks to encourage the Filipino nation to join our Muslim brothers and sisters in peace and harmony in the celebration of Eid’l Fitr, the Feast of Ramadhan.

Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Belated Greetings to SSP, FSP and CRSP

Belated greetings on the feast days of  SSP and FSP (June 30) and CRSP (Barnabites) (July 5)!

DWSTSA Election

Please take note of the following schedule for the DWSTSA Election:

1. July 10 Fri at 11:10 am at the Aula Magna
Presentation of Candidates (representatives from the 13 Houses of Formation).

2. July 14 Tue DWSTSA Election

3. July 17 Fri at 11:10 am at the Aula Magna -DWSTSA Officers Oathtaking

The 13 Houses of Formation:

  1. Divine Word Seminary Scholasticate (SVD)
  2. Fil-Mission Seminary MSP)
  3. Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales (MSFS)
  4. Oblates of St. Joseph (OSJ)
  5. Religious Tertiary Capuchins of Our Lady of Sorrows (TC Amigonians)
  6. Saint Augustine Major Seminary (SASMA)
  7. Saint Lawrence of Brindisi House of Studies (OFM Capuchins)
  8. Saint Paul Seminary Foundation (SSP)
  9. Saint Paul Scholasticate (Barnabites)
  10. San Pablo Theological Formation House
  11. Servants of the Paraclete (sP)
  12. Somascan Major Seminary (Somascans)
  13. Tahanan ng Mabuting Pastol (TMP)

All enrolled students (including the lay) have voting rights.
All are invited to attend the Presentation of Candidates and the Officers Oathtaking.

We thank the following class seniors for facilitating as all of last year's DWSTSA officers are currently out of DWST:
T4  Knoriel Alvarez, TMP (Head)
T3 Jimboy Mayo, OFMCap
T2 Mandee Batac, CRS
T1 DJ Tercena, SVD